Canterbury Photographic Society


2016-2017 Meetings:  May

3rd May 2017

Last Wednesday was a members evening with a fascinating in depth presentation provided by Club member Di Long explaining her recent successful journeys in achieving her photographic distinctions of LRPS and CPAGB.


Di displayed two sets of prints which were used and explained how she had moved and replaced the images to eventually present them to be judged and the process required to finally have them reviewed.


An inspiring evening which hopefully will spur members on to follow her and help develop their future photography in this way.

10th May 2017

Local judge Kirsty Ralfs ARPS from Herne Bay presided over a busy Annual Print competition with over 80 images

to comment on and find winners in each section of the event.


Results as follows:


Pictorial winner.Braving the Blizzard by Wendy Kennett

H/c:  Beauty by Candle Light by DI Long LRPS CPAGB


Creative winner..Taking a Dip by Lyn Blackbourn

h/c:  First Glimpse of Spring by Wendy Kennett


Record winner..My Calibres by Dave Roberts

h/c:  New Pound Coin by Philip Wells


Human Portrait Winner Philip by John Howard

h/c:  .Holding on to Time by DI Long LRPS CPAGB


Landscape/Seascape winner Fairy Glen by Wendy Kennett

h/c:  .Fog on North Hill by Steve Presnell


Nature/Wildlife winner..Orange Tip Butterfly by Barry Amos

h/c:  ..Male Bitterns Fight for Territory by Wendy Kennett


Overall Annual Print Winner. Taking a Dip by Lyn Blackbourn


(Click here to see images)

24th May 2017

The final meeting of the Club season was the AGM.


This was followed by The Hunt Cup, a panel competition in honour of our previous Chairman Richard Hunt

who we were delighted to have in attendance to judge the event and present the awards.


The results were as follows :-


Winner, Wendy Kennett with 'Cowslips and Green Veined Orchids'


Highly Commended, Sandy Littlejohn with 'Bachelor Boys'


Highly Commended, Steve Silk with 'A study of Puffins'


During the summer break outings will be arranged and details will be announced on our web site.


Our new season commences on 6th September, new members are always welcome.


For further information please contact John Newell (Chairman) on 07739849209


Or click here for Contact Page.


WINNER:  Cowslips and Green Veined Orchids by Wendy Kennett

HIGHLY COMMENDED:  Batchelor Boys by Sandy Littlejohn

DSC_5201web DSC_5170web DSC_5204web DSC_5202web DSC_5199web DSC_5197web DSC_5194web DSC_5184web DSC_5162web DSC_5163web DSC_5168web DSC_5192web DSC_5174web DSC_5175web DSC_5205web DSC_5177web DSC_5181web DSC_5212A DSC_5210_web DSC_5190web

31st May 2017 Prize Giving and Dinner


Images from the evening